Musician and Dreamer


Musician and Dreamer



The Esterhazy Orchestra, David Blum, Music Director

                                                  "The devotion, idealism, and musical taste
                                                   with which David Blum prepares and performs 
                                               these masterpieces communicates itself
                                                          to audiences everywhere."           
                                                                                                          - Pablo Casals


Haydn Symphonies on Vanguard Records

Symphony No. 39 in G minor
Symphony No. 73 in D major

"A lovely record, one that Haydn's own Esterhazy orchestra could easily have listened to with joy."  
    -New York Herald Tribune


Symphony No. 75 in D major
Symphony No. 81 in G major

"These are works of the full artistic maturity of the composer, and it is sheer negligence on the part of conductors and record makers that we had to wait until now to make their acquaintance. Blum performances make the joy of discovery all the more intense."   
          -High Fidelity



Symphony No. 70 in D major
Symphony No. 59 in A major 

 "There is no doubt that the 28 year-old Blum and his 25-man orchestra are splendid musicians. Bravo Blum!"
              -American Record Guide

Symphony No. 52 in C minor
Symphony No. 60 in C major

"The Esterhazy is a splendid little orchestra of 25 musicians who must love every note Haydn wrote." 
          -Washington Star



Symphony No. 90 in C major
Symphony No. 91 in E-flat major 

 "The orchestra plays with the utmost clarity and polish and seems to share with the conductor an elation and joy in making music."    
            -Musical America


Re-released Haydn Symphonies

Symphony No. 60 in C major
Symphony No. 75 in D major
Symphony No. 81 in G major

"A remarkably high level of accomplishment that compound of intellectual toughness, elegance and wit which is the hallmark of a really understanding Haydn performance."  
            -The Observer



The English Chamber Orchestra, David Blum Conductor

Mozart Divertimenti

 Divertimento in B-flat, K. 287
 Divertimento in F, K.138




Recordings also released through:

Europe: Amadeo, Inelco, Phonag, Philips, RCA

Australia: Astor

New Zealand: Allied

South America: Sicamericana, Som.

Mexico: Gamma

Japan: King

You are listening to the  3rd Movement ( Minuet, Allegretto), 
from Haydn's Symphony No. 70 in D major 
conducted by David Blum with the Esterhazy Orchestra.

70 III. Menuet: Allegretto
Blum/Esterhazy Orch. (Haydn: Symphonies 39, 70, 73 & 75 (Blum))